Monday, April 18, 2011

The Complete Handel's Messiah: Accompagnato and Air

Part I
The prophesy and realization of God's plan to redeem mankind by the coming of the Messiah


10. Accompagnato (Bass)

For behold, darkness shall cover the earth,
and gross darkness the people;

but the Lord shall arise upon thee,
and His glory shall be seen upon thee.

And the Gentiles shall come to thy light,
and kings to the brightness of thy rising.
Isaiah 60:2-3

11. Air (Bass)

The people that walked in darkness
have seen a great light;

and they that dwell
in the land of the shadow of death,
upon them hath the Light shined.
Isaiah 9: 2

Brisbane Concert Choir
Sinfonia of St Andrew's
Conductor: Debra Shearer-Dirié
Orchestra Leader: Chen Yang

Milica Ilic, soprano
Dorothy Williams, alto
Thomas Moran, tenor
Sam Hartley, bass
Emma Hadfield, harpsichord
Eduarda van Klinken, organ

St Andrew's Uniting Church
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Sunday 13th July 2008


During this Holy Week, All for Hymn is featuring Handel's Messiah in it's complete form. New posts will hit roughly every 5-6 hours beginning at 6:00 am CDT on Palm Sunday (April 17, 2011) and running through 6:00 PM CDT on Easter Sunday (April 24, 2011).

No comments:

Post a Comment

Differing opinions are welcome! Please keep comments on an academic level. Lively discussions and alternate opinions are productive, arguments and accusations are not.

Please leave a name or pseudonym at the end of your comment so the conversation can continue. Alternately, you can log in using Yahoo, AOL/AIM, Google, Netlog, or Open ID on any comment page.

Comment Moderation is on to ensure that blog author reads each comment. The goal is to read and reply to each comment.

Note: you may have to hit "Preview" first and then "Post."